Creating New Realities …

When most people think of learning they don’t think in terms of having to change themselves. They tend to think of learning as…acquiring ideas, tips, techniques, and so on. Seldom does it occur to them that the problems they are facing are inseparable from who they are or the way they think and interact with other people.

~Robert Hargrove

Appreciative Self-Inquiry:

Think of a situation, problem or issue that you are presently tackling and then answer the following questions:

  • Is my point of view exacerbating the problem that I am facing or is it facilitating resolution?
  • What shift in perspective would lead my thoughts toward a solution?
  • How do I see myself in this situation? Who am I being?
  • Who do I need to ‘be’ to solve the problem…what innate qualities can I draw on?
  • How is my behaviour fostering unfavorable results?
  • What behaviour would encourage a positive outcome?
  • Do I believe I can successfully resolve this issue?
  • Do I reach out to family, friends, colleagues, or experts to assist me with this situation?
  • What are my first three steps towards a resolution?
Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

